Speluska's Blog

Read my mind

It isn’t a shame to cry, but it’s a pity to let your soul die

I might never be a model,

I am not saying that I never wanted that to be;

but there are far more important things in life which I prefer to achive.

My biggest virtue is not what I do or what I say,

it is my soul, which is never grey.


My life is not perfect,

but thanks to myself I am doing just fine,

and for that I do not need a bottle of wine.

If you ask me questions,

I find it hard to tell you lies;

and I am sorry if it hurts what I say,

but it is the best what I can do for you,

to tell you the truth.

If the sky is grey and all things seem to go wrong,

I think of all the good things I did to the people I met,

and all the laughs that I had.

Life is our own harmony,

it is up to us what we want to be.

I can see in your eyes when you tell me lies,

I do not care about the things you say;

if all is fake,

for me you are a big mistake.

You might fake your gladness,

but in your soul I can see sadness.

Try to think about that,

life is too short to throw it away,

not to believe in what you do or what you say.

September 25, 2010 - Posted by | Poetry | ,

31 Comments »

  1. love your title,
    brilliant spirits.
    well done!

    Comment by Jingle | September 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. My life is not perfect,

    but thanks to myself I am doing just fine,

    and for that I do not need a bottle of wine.

    If you ask me questions,

    love these line, so very cute and fun read, yet it touches common ground of life …
    welcome to our community, have fun reading participants list.

    Comment by Jingle | September 25, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thanks Jingle for all these words :)Even if I don7t know you, they mean a lot to me…

    Comment by speluska | September 25, 2010 | Reply

  4. If only we all had friends as authentic as this, people who are not afraid to speak their own sacred points of view. That’s courage. Nice poem.
    Victoria
    http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2010/09/23/ear-worms-a-poem-for-jingles-poetry-rally/

    Comment by liv2write2day | September 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Victoria for dropping by, yes it is what should matter most – to be honest.

      Comment by speluska | September 25, 2010 | Reply

  5. The world is simply a stage of drama. That is why pursuing one true self and happy with it are just so rare…

    This poem reminds me of being myself and true to my friends, because, yup, cruel honesty is far more better than sweet lies.

    Happy rally! ^^

    Comment by dhitzunako | September 25, 2010 | Reply

    • There are many different ways to tell the truth. For example: If you think that the dress is ugly you better say that dress isn’t the most beautiful one I’ve seen. Simple example but it can be used in every single aspect of life.

      Comment by speluska | September 25, 2010 | Reply

  6. Beautiful piece. Love and Light, Sender

    Comment by SenderUpWords | September 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Sender, I’m glad you liked it.

      Comment by speluska | September 25, 2010 | Reply

  7. honesty and no booze…seems like you have a pure soul; one of light and laughter, rather than beguile.

    Comment by Sina Saberi : The Blog | September 26, 2010 | Reply

    • I am young but I’ve seen many people close to me drowning in booze, this is why I’ve a certain opinion about that… I laugh a lot, but I also cry. I let my feelings be seen to others… I’m not perfect, but at least I’m happy with who I am 🙂

      Comment by speluska | September 26, 2010 | Reply

  8. lively poem with a lovely title..tears can be relieving I guess.. beautiful! 🙂

    Rally Week 29 – My Poem

    Comment by Leo (Leonnyes) | September 26, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Leo, there are far too many hipocrats around us…they might seem to do better in life but the truth is that in their hearts there is a hole which is making them feel empty. What a life!

      Comment by speluska | September 26, 2010 | Reply

  9. I like the beginning a lot 🙂

    Comment by thewhitebuffalowoman | September 27, 2010 | Reply

  10. lovely poem. could totally relate to it. and i really liked the way the poem changed its pace. gives it a nice texture if you try reading it aloud. 🙂

    http://superhero-blues.blogspot.com/2010/04/kites-and-thunderstorms.html

    Comment by Reetam Majumder | September 27, 2010 | Reply

    • I haven’t tried that, have to admit that… I’m glad you liked it! Greets

      Comment by speluska | September 28, 2010 | Reply

  11. oh wow..this was screaming at me. The lines ending with “bottle of wine” was brilliant. The ending keeps resounding in my head.

    Comment by Keshav Ram Narla | September 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh Keshav thank you! I really like your style of writing so this words mean a lot to me!

      Comment by speluska | September 28, 2010 | Reply

  12. Beautiful poem. I can really relate to it, because I cannot lie to people either, and land up telling them the truth more often than they would care to hear. You are very right when you say that life is our own harmony. We decide what to see and be.

    Comment by deadpoet88 | September 27, 2010 | Reply

  13. One of the best things we can share to a friend is our honesty. When we tell them things that no other people can, that’s how it should be. They shouldn’t be our friends if they are fake. =)

    HAPPY RALLY!

    LuvLuv,
    B

    Comment by B | September 28, 2010 | Reply

    • Yeah, that is true. But in fact it isn’t very common to reach that, because many people can’t accept if someone is being honest, they might understand it as being critically mean and jelaous. The modern world I guess.

      Comment by speluska | September 28, 2010 | Reply

  14. this is Brilliant!! i felt like you wrote me a personal letter.

    Comment by Donusho | September 28, 2010 | Reply

    • Donusho, I’m glad this poem reached you and your soul. It sould be that way – to feel the poem and get something form it. Greets

      Comment by speluska | September 28, 2010 | Reply

  15. This is such a sweet poem, and complements the charming picture.

    Comment by vivinfrance | September 29, 2010 | Reply

  16. Grateful to know you are writing and posting your poetry. Lovely!

    Comment by Julie Jordan Scott | September 29, 2010 | Reply

  17. http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.wordpress.com/2010/10/27/the-celebrate-poet-of-september-award-nomination-announcement/

    please vote for fellow posts,
    you are nominated, you win one vote, if you vote for other poets, you win another vote.

    upon join the voting, you win at least a runner up award .
    Thanks for the attention.

    Comment by Jingle | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  18. […] Speluska: https://speluska.wordpress.com/2010/09/25/it-isnt-a-shame-to-cry-but-its-a-pity-to-let-your-soul-dier… […]

    Pingback by The Celebrate Poet of September Awards (Officially Won Via Votes) | Promising Poets' Parking Lot | November 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

