Speluska's Blog

Read my mind

Addicted to Facebook?

I have 267 friends. I’m in a relationship and I like strawberries. All that and a lot more you can find out on my Facebook profile. You can see how I look like and what my name and my last name are. You can see photos from my Erasmus exchange, from my holiday and from my birthday party. You can see who my friends are and what I’m doing and how I’m thinking. You can take my photos of and distribute them without my permission. I’ve made some private customization which differ from beginning settings (when everything is public). I write and read stuff every day. Every single day. In the morning and in the evening. If I’ve some minutes off I go on-line to check up what’s new. Ok, why do I’ve a Facebook profile? Because it seemed cool and easy to use. To keep in touch or to rebuilt contacts. From curiousity. To chat. To get information. To find out about events and not to forget birthdays. Ok, stop. I’m addicted. I admit that. And I’m afraid. From possible abuse of my information and photos. Even if my profile isn’t public here is a possibility that I don’t know all Facebook friends very well (so true) and also those people who aren’t my friends can see my photos. There are whole procedures described on Youtube. You can watch on of them here. There were cases when people failed a complaint claiming that their photos have been abused (shown in media) and investigators refused to help them due to the fact that they or their friends have friends which they don’t even know (which is quite common nowadays). Be afraid, be very afraid. The founder of Facebook, Mark Zuckerberg, says that the age of privacy is over. That society has changed and that people like the fact that everyone can know everything about them. That’s so arrogant from him to say. If he thinks that Facebook is the leader of the society…well, so not true. They manipulated us. Step by step. We have to open our eyes. I’ll write my thesis about that, Privacy on internet based on Facebook.

April 18, 2010 - Posted by | Reviews, Uncategorized | , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Interesting thinking πŸ™‚ I also can say that I’m addicted to Facebook. But what I like is that I manage to set up, which information can which user see. But yes I agree with Zuckerberg that the age of privacy is over, because every time we go online (no matter to which website) we leave our personal data somewhere on that website. For example we leave our interests and marketing companies collect this data. This is why we have Slovenian adds on English sites. So the only difference between Facebook and other websites is that on Facebook we can choose our friends and we can choose which content they will see. But because people are some how exhibitionists they just don’t care. Maybe the problem is in people and not in technology. But however interesting and relevant topic for your thesis. πŸ™‚

    Comment by Tanja | April 18, 2010 | Reply

  2. Something interesting about privacy: http://www.worldprivacyforum.org/topics.html
    http://www.privacyrights.org/Online-Privacy-and-Technology

    Hope it will be somehow useful πŸ˜€

    Comment by Tanja | April 18, 2010 | Reply

  3. In my opinion people just don’t realize the possible danger. Yes, the culture has changed. But we were pushed to change. And we don’t really want some maniacs to know everything about us, do we? In teenagers world it goes like that: the more FB friends you have, more popular you are. And yes girls put half-naked pictures to their albums, maybe because they want some boys to see them. But I still think that they have some dignity and that they don’t won’t pedophiles to watch those photos and masturbate while watching them. I had to delete some so called friends. One of tem was really strange, I used to know him, but he added people who were on photos with me and talked with them about me. I was shocked. And some people are strange. That’s a fact. Strange in a weird way. if you have used link in my post you could see that even if you don’t have someone as a friend they can reach your photos. Without your permission. There is no choice. Only if we don’t post them. I know FB isn’t the only case of abusing the right to privacy. But it’s the most obvious in it. And it makes you addicted to it. And when you are addicted to something you don’t think so criticaly about that, do you?

    Comment by speluska | April 19, 2010 | Reply

  4. And Tanja – thank you for those links, I’m sure they’ll be useful! If you or anyone else finds something that could help me I would appreciate it I you would tell me about that…

    Comment by speluska | April 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. Well yes I totally agree with you. Half naked girls on internet … Where are their parents??? Maybe people should realize that we live in new era and that we should adjust (or adapt) to new technologies. Because sadly they will not go away and they will become more and more interwoven in our every day life. But what I meant to say is that I’m more worried about our information that companies and even government are collecting about us. Because you can choose if you will use Facebook, but you can not choose if you will use internet. For example all the open source programs (like Picassa or Open Office). It is in the hands of Google what will do with your pictures in Picassa (so called cloud computing -> this is new thing I discover regarding to privacy this week πŸ™‚ ). Anyway I think that we should talk about this on coffee πŸ™‚
    And some more links (this week we have topic about privacy and new media at my seminar):
    http://epic.org/
    http://books.google.com/books?id=l0YFfNYLfeMC&printsec=frontcover&dq=privacy&lr=&ei=lHDIS5CWHIGizQS9w5HjBw&cd=45#v=onepage&q&f=false
    http://www.resourceshelf.com/2010/03/18/danah-boyd-making-sense-of-privacy-and-publicity/
    http://www.zephoria.org/thoughts/archives/2008/10/22/putting_privacy.html

    Comment by Tanja | April 19, 2010 | Reply

  6. I read about cloud computing on your blog. Interesting… I have to look deeply into that. I would be more than happy to drink a cup of coffee with you πŸ™‚ Maybe I could come to visit you on Friday? Now when I have a car πŸ˜€

    Comment by speluska | April 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

